Eloi, Eloi, Lama Sabachthani

“My God, my God.  Why have you forsaken me?”  Jesus’ penultimate words on the cross.  But what do they mean, and why would God accuse Himself of forsaking Him?

Makes no sense when you look at it that way.  It is recorded in the New Testament that the people watching believed Jesus was calling on Elijah or Moses.  Theologians have been arguing about it for as long as there has been Christian theology.  No one understands it.

Well, maybe that is because they are looking at it from the wrong angle.   Jesus was being crucified in Jerusalem, by the people who claimed to be His chosen ones.  The people who called him ‘God’.  Bu they had rejected Him when he walked among them.  So now, there he was on the cross being crucified, and he says to them ‘You called me God.  So why have you now forsaken me?”

It was a lament and an accusation.  Think about it.

